Camcycle AGM, board of trustees for 2018

This article was published in 2018, in Newsletter 136.

Carlton Reid speaking at our AGM.
Image as described adjacent

Camcycle’s 2017 AGM was held on the evening of Tuesday 5 December. Before the official start guests had the opportunity to network over tea and coffee, and to read through our annual report booklet – an innovation for this year’s AGM. It is available at:

The AGM started with a thoroughly interesting presentation by guest speaker Carlton Reid, executive editor of BikeBiz magazine, author of Roads Were Not Built for Cars and researcher of lost cycleways, which were the topic for the evening’s presentation. Carlton has been rediscovering a network of cycleways built across the UK in the 1930s. For a short time these were a requirement for all new road-building projects. Over time their intended use for cyclists has been forgotten and they have been lost, sometimes in plain sight underneath car parking and modern street furniture, elsewhere under a layer of soil and grass. Some – like our own example on Wadloes Road – are still in use, However, their connection to this 1930s network is forgotten, people assuming they must have been built more recently. Carlton explained how he has used aerial photography, street-level mapping images, social media tip-offs and research in local archives to discover and document these cycleways. He hopes that in many cases they can be brought back into regular use.

Left: Cycle track on new road: now Wadloes Road. Right: Wadloes Road today.
Image as described adjacent Image as described adjacent

The official business started with the Chair’s report from Robin Heydon. He highlighted the work done by the Campaign during 2017; excellent work by Matthew Danish on planning responses and working with residents’ associations, the Absolute Bollards campaign started by Hester Wells, and an update of our freshers’ leaflet to assist new riders. Robin particularly noted the fantastic work done by Sarah Rodger on the newsletter and the need for new volunteers to keep this important campaigning tool running. Special thanks too to Roxanne for doing a brilliant job for the Campaign, well beyond her contracted hours. Robin felt it was time to think about a second employee.

Chris Howell gave the Treasurer’s report covering changes over the twelve months since he took over the position. He explained how the Campaign is moving from funding its employee through a long-term member’s donation to obtaining grants for this, how we have taken on office space within the Bike Depot and spent more on campaigning this year.

The election was then held, with the ballots counted while we enjoyed a post-AGM social at the Maypole. We are pleased to announce the following trustees elected for 2018:

  • Chair – Robin Heydon
  • Vice Chair – Hester Wells
  • Treasurer – Chris Howell
  • Membership Secretary – Sue Edwards
  • Liaison Officer – Martin Lucas-Smith
  • Planning Officer – Alistair Storer
  • Events Officer – Willa McDonald
  • General Campaigners – Richard Burgess, Jim Chisholm, Matthew Danish, Tom McKeown

Many thanks to our outgoing trustees Sarah Rodger, Monica Frisch, Franny Ritchie and Neil Spenley for their contributions. We have a number of vacant positions within the board of trustees: please get in touch in you are interested in these.

Tom McKeown