Spaces to Breathe: Camcycle AGM 2021 with guest speaker Melissa Bruntlett

Over 70 members and guests joined us for the Camcycle 2021 AGM, which was held online via Zoom. Trustees and staff reviewed 2020, shared plans for 2021 and presented the annual Camcycle awards, showing recognition to those who have worked hard for more, better and safer cycling over the last 12 months. We were also delighted to welcome cycling communications specialist and author, Melissa Bruntlett, who spoke about the human benefits of creating spaces to breathe and curbing the growth of motor traffic.

The event is now available to view on YouTube and a full report will appear in the next issue of Camcycle magazine.

Links to more information

Camcycle annual review and trustees’ annual report

Find out more about what we did in 2020.


Melissa and Chris Bruntlett

Find out more about Melissa, and her husband Chris, on their Modacity website, where you’ll also find links to their two books, Building the Cycling City: The Dutch Blueprint for Urban Vitality (published August 2018) and Curbing Traffic: The Human Case for Fewer Cars in Our Lives (due to be published in June 2021).



All the trustee candidates were elected to the board, as follows:

Camcycle Chair: Robin Heydon

Camcycle Treasurer: Peter Gotham

Camcycle trustees: Alessandra Caggiano, Matthew Danish, Sue Edwards, Finlay Knops-Mckim, Christopher Loughlan, Martin Lucas-Smith, Tom McKeown, and Alec Seaman

At the next trustee meeting, one of the general trustees will be co-opted to the role of Camcycle Secretary.


Camcycle awards

The 2020 Camcycle awards were as follows:

Partner of the Year: Tricia Sutton, Connection through Crafting (working with Camcycle to deliver scrubs and masks made by her team of sewing volunteers)

Public Officers of the Year: Vanessa Kelly and Grant Weller for the Dutch roundabout at Fendon Road

Magazine photo of the year: Bill Blake, for a stunning kite photograph of the Abbey-Chesterton bridge

Magazine article of the year: Rosamund Humphrey with Steve Streets for ‘Marathon Training by Hand

Campaign of the Year: Dan Strauss for the ‘Save Your Cycle Route’ campaign on Adams Road

Newcomers of the year: Gabriel Bienzobas and Edward Taylor of the recently-launched Milton Cycling Campaign

Campaigner of the Year: Sarah Swire, for the successful School Street scheme at St Philips Primary School

Regional campaigner of the year: John Morris, founder of the Hunts Walking & Cycling group

Volunteer of the year: Ken Warner, one of Camcycle’s ‘hidden’ but extremely conscientious volunteers

Lifetime achievement award: Tim Burford, who has contributed over two decades of volunteer work to Camcycle including over 35,000 photos on Cyclestreets

View the award section of the video