The Constitution prior to Charitable Status

This Constitution was in place prior to Charitable Status which took effect on 16th September 2010. This document is made available purely for historical purposes now.

The group shall be called the Cambridge Cycling Campaign

Membership will be open to all (cyclists or not) who subscribe to the Cambridge Cycling Campaign Constitution and pay the annual fee. Rates of membership will be reviewed by the AGM.


  • to encourage bicycle usage in Cambridge and its environs by making it a safer, more convenient and generally more attractive proposition than it currently is.
  • to promote cycling as a solution to local transport problems, road traffic casualties and urban air pollution. Cycling is beneficial to the public health and applicable to all social classes and age groups, notwithstanding the hazards and disincentives imposed by national and local policies.
  • to increase the influence that cyclists have on local transport policy and planning
  • to address the wider issues of transport planning and motoring culture as they affect the condition of cycling

The General Meeting (G.M.):

  • is open to all members of the Campaign and is its highest body
  • is held monthly
  • shall discuss and decide Campaign policy
  • makes decisions by ordinary majority
  • shall hold the Elected Officers accountable for their actions
  • shall appoint a Chair, to chair the meeting, and a Secretary, to take the minutes.

The Annual General Meeting:

  • shall be held annually in the second half of the year
  • shall be quorate with 20 members present
  • may amend the constitution with a 2/3 majority of all those voting
  • shall select Elected Officers by simple majority vote to serve an annual term (votes shall be counted by two people not standing for any post or with any personal interest in the outcome of the vote)
  • shall approve the accounts
  • shall appoint a Chair, to chair the meeting, and a Secretary, to take the minutes.

The Committee:

  • shall implement Campaign policy, subject to a General Meeting
  • shall consist of the following Elected Officers:
    • Coordinator, who shall co-ordinate the running of the Campaign
    • Membership Secretary, who will deal with membership administration
    • Treasurer, who shall be responsible for the Campaign’s accounts and will prepare them for annual inspection by the AGM
    • Liaison Officer, who will represent the Campaign on external liaison bodies
    • Newsletter Editor, who will co-ordinate the preparation of a regular newsletter
    • Press and Publicity Officer, who will co-ordinate the Campaign’s communications with the press and other media
    • Events Officer, who will co-ordinate the organisation and publicising of social and campaigning events, including running of the Campaign’s stall.
    • Recruitment Officer, who will co-ordinate and initiate efforts to increase membership of the Campaign.
    • Up to seven additional Committee members without portfolio

Following resignation of any Officer any replacement shall be elected by an Extraordinary General Meeting and notified to members via the Newsletter.

The Committee may appoint a Secretary and a Webmaster, who shall work with the Elected Officers to assist with the administration of the Campaign.


The Campaign shall operate one or more current accounts and a savings account, each account with:

  • At least five elected officers as signatories, to include Treasurer, Co-ordinator and Membership Secretary
  • 2 signatures required on each cheque drawn
  • No person may sign a cheque payable to themselves
  • For accounts with online access, the Treasurer, Co-ordinator and Membership Secretary shall have the password
  • Any payments made via electronic banking will require agreement in advance, by e-mail or in writing, from one of the other signatories.


  • The Campaign may from time to time set up Subgroups.
  • A Subgroup is a group of members which has been constituted to further a particular area of the campaign’s aims.
  • All Subgroups are open to all members.
  • Each Subgroup shall have a Subgroup Coordinator who shall either be an elected officer or a member approved by the Elected Officers.
  • The Subgroup Coordinator is responsible for keeping Elected Officers and other members informed of the work of the group.
  • The Subgroup Coordinator is responsible for ensuring that the work of the Subgroup represents campaign policy.

Representing the Campaign:

  • All written communications (including letters, faxes, emails, posters and handbills) sent or published on behalf of the Campaign must be approved by an Elected Officer, who is responsible for ensuring that the communication represents Campaign policy.
  • All signed communications (including letters, faxes and emails) sent on behalf of the Campaign must be signed either by an Elected Officer or, for communications relating to their Subgroup only, by a Subgroup Coordinator.
  • Elected Officers shall agree procedures to ensure that all communications are reviewed and recorded.

Obligations of Members:

  • Members must not do anything that will bring the campaign into disrepute.
  • Members must not claim, or appear to claim, to represent the campaign unless authorised to do so.
  • If a member breaks either of the two previous rules, the General Meeting may vote by simple majority to require them to resign from membership. The member will be invited to state their case to the General Meeting before any such vote is taken.


  • 1996 AGM
    • Created post of Coordinator
    • Created post of Liaison Officer
    • Approved opening of a Savings account
    • Stated that officers may sign letters on behalf of the Campaign
  • 1997 AGM
    • Created post of Officer without Portfolio
    • All elected officers can now sign cheques
  • 1998 AGM
    • Added “Subgroups”
    • Added “Representing the Campaign”
    • Added “Obligations of Members”
  • 2000 AGM
    • In the section entitled ‘the elected officers’, replace the words ‘officer without portfolio’ with the words ‘Up to five additional committee members, without portfolio’
    • In the section entitled ‘Finance’, replace the words ‘All elected officers as signatories’ with ‘at least five elected officers as signatories, to include Treasurer, Co-ordinator, Membership Secretary and Stall Officer’.
    • As a third bullet point in the section entitled ‘Representing the Campaign’, insert ‘Elected Officers shall agree procedures to ensure that all communications are reviewed and recorded’.
  • 2004 AGM
    • The Committee section reworded.
  • 2006 AGM
    • The maximum number of Officers Without Portfolio increased to 7.
  • 2007 AGM
    • Replaced Stall Officer with two new posts: Events Officer and Recruitment Officer
    • Replacement of finance section